When viewing suggestions you lose everything you have typed

When I ask a question a list of suggested similar questions are posted. If you look at one of them, you lose everything you have typed and the web page. This is a very bad design and it causes me not to inspect the possible questions since I will lose everything done.

Stackoverflow is much smarter. Click on a suggested question and they open it up in a new page. If it is not of interest one can easily return and select another in the list.